Match Report: Ulster A 7-23 Scarlets Premiership Select

Callum Black

Callum Black started for Ulster A

Ulster A’s chances of making the quarter-finals of the British & Irish Cup took a massive blow as they granted the Scarlets Premiership Select their first ever win as the Welshmen triumphed 23-7 at Eaton Park.

Despite losing all of their games so far and conceding bonus points in all of them, the Scarlets won through tries from wingers Gavin Thomas and Dion Jones along with 13 points from kicker Dan Jones.

Ulster A had taken the lead through a penalty try early on but could never push on from there, meaning their qualification hopes are now slim.

It took just five minutes for the hosts to go into the lead as a massive shove from a scrum underneath the visitors’ posts gave the referee no option but to award the seven pointer as the Welsh scrum splintered.

However they could not capitalise on their early dominance, even whenever Scarlets flanker Shaun Evans saw yellow for stopping an attack just short of the line just before the half hour mark.

Instead it was the Scarlets who nearly scored just before half time when a grubber kick through was gathered by winger Gavin Thomas only for the Welshman to put a foot in touch before grounding the ball with the last play.

Just eight minutes after the restart and the Scarlets did find themselves level – Ulster A winger Adam Liddell spilled the ball at the line and Thomas picked it up and ran the length of the pitch to touch down.

Fly-half Jones converted and then landed three consecutive penalties to push the visitors further into the lead, with Ulster A full-back Robert Lyttle spending ten minutes in the bin for tripping the dangerous Thomas.

And the Scarlets wrapped up the scoring and the win with their second try 12 minutes from time when returning centre Jordan Williams threw a beautiful cut out pass to winger Dion Jones who scored the try.


The scorers

For Ulster A

Try: Penalty try

Con: Windsor

For Scarlets

Tries: Thomas, Di Jones

Cons: Da Jones (2)

Pens: Da Jones (3)



(15-9) Robert Lyttle, Connor Young, Callum Patterson, Mark Best, Adam Liddell, Sam Windsor, Paul Rowley; (1-8) Callum Black, John Andrew, Jonny Simpson, John Donnan, Pete Browne, Conor Joyce, Willie Faloon, Stephen Mulholland.

Replacements: Johnny Murphy, Ruaidhri Murphy, Ross Kane, Nick Timoney, Lorcan Dow, Josh Pentland, Andrew Magrath.

Yellow card: Robert Lyttle



(15-9) Dion Jones, Gavin Thomas, Steffan Hughes, Josh Lewis, Michael Tagicakibau, Dan Jones, Kieran Hardy; (1-8) Dylan Evans, Ryan Elias, Ben Leung, Ben Thompson, Jack Jones, Stuart Worrell, Shaun Evans, Trystan Lloyd.

Replacements: Will Taylor, Kirby Myhill, Lee Taylor, Owain Morgan, Connor Lloyd, Jacob Cowley, Jordan Williams.

Yellow card: Shaun Evans