URSC Player of the Year 2013/14

URSC troppyAs Ulster battle it out for a place in the RaboDirect Pro 12 Play Offs it’s time again for URSC members to decide the destination of the URSC Player of Year for 2013/14.

The winning player receives a magnificent Bob Sloan designed trophy and a superb watch from McNeillys Jewellers and as such is the most coveted annual player award.

Inaugurated in 2005, previous winners of the award were:

2005 Matt McCullough
2006 Justin Harrison
2007 Neil Best
2008 Tommy Bowe
2009 Stephen Ferris
2010 Chris Henry
2011 Johann Muller
2012 Pedrie Wannenberg
2013 Andrew Trimble

luke marshallTommy Bowedarren caveRuan PienaarAndrew Trimble+Ireland A stuttering start to the Pro 12 campaign finally gave way to great consistency and the only 100% winning record in H Cup qualifying, culminating in the superb team performance at Welford Road. The Euro campaign came to a bitter end when a decimated Ulster 14 put in a heroic performance before being denied a place in the semi finals by Saracens. So who have stood out during the year? Early in the season it was smooth as silk Jared Payne; later it was the sheer guts of Chris Henry and the undervalued organisational skills of Darren Cave; Johann Muller has played every game as if it were his last; Ruan Pienaar was even impressing English journalists; Rory Best has been inspirational; Luke Marshall and Roger Wilson rarely have bad games; when he has played Tommy Bowe has oozed class……and last year’s winner Andrew Trimble has played even better and more consistently this season!

But it is you who decides!

Vote at the URSC Information Point at the Leinster game, via www.ursc.co or by e mail to ulsterrugbysupportersclub@hotmail.comclosing date is midnight on Friday 2 May.

All those voting for the winner will be put in a draw for a rugby prize signed by the winning player!